Cubana, 5 others to receive ESUT honorary degrees


From Geoffrey Anyanwu, EnuguChief Executive Officer of Cubana Group, Obinna Iyiegbu, and five other prominent Nigerians will be awarded honorary degrees of the Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) at the 18th convocation ceremony of the university on Saturday.The ceremony would also witness the admission of 29,240 students into various degrees, as the university resolved to, henceforth, have regular yearly convocation.Iyiegbu, businessman and big shot in entertainment industry and Michael Ikebudu of Human Resources Directorate, Brunei Shell Petroleum, would be awarded Doctor of Business Administration (Honoris Causa) while Chima Centus Nweze of the Supreme Court, would receive Doctor of Law (Honoris Causa).Others are the Isagba of Ogwashi-Uku Kingdom, Jude Ndudi Ozah, Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa); Ike Nwokolo, Doctor of Public Administration (Honoris Causa) and Agatha Obiekwugo, Doctor of Business Administration (Honoris Causa).ESUT Vice Chancellor, Aloysius-Michaels Okolie, who disclosed these to newsmen during the 18th convocation press briefing, said the award was to recognise, in a special way, the outstanding efforts and contributions of the awardees in their different professional callings to improve their environment and to encourage them to do more.Giving details of the convocation activities, the vice chancellor said the Executive Secretary of TETFUND, Sonny Echono, would deliver the convocation lecture on the topic, “Education, Research and Human Capital Development in Nigeria: The challenges and missing link,” today at Amadeo Event Centre, Enugu.Also at the same venue tomorrow would be the Founder’s Day celebration and unveiling of the proposed ESUT convocation arena, to be chaired by former minister of Power, Chinedu Nebo.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here